Academic Assembly highlights residents' and fellows' research accomplishments

Faculty and all of the residents and fellows in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center attended the annual Sloane Academic Assembly on Thursday, June 13. The PGY-3 residents and graduating fellows (Ian Joseph Bishop, MD, MPH; Whitney Booker, MD; Ama Buskwofie, MD; Surya Cooper, MD, MPH; Ariel Kate Dubin, MD; Cassandra R. Duffy, MD, MPH; Eve Overton, MD; Katherine L. Palmerola, MD; Stephanie Purisch, MD; Sierra J. Seaman, MD; Jessica Selter, MD; Claire Tobias, MD; Sally F. Vitez, MD; and Timothy Wen, MD, MPH) presented their research projects, and Fidel A. Valea, MD, Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine gave a lecture.

“As a teaching hospital, education and research are equally important to clinical care in our mission of advancing women’s health,” said Rini Ratan, MD, Program Director of the Ob/Gyn Residency and Vice Chair of Education in the Department of Ob/Gyn. “We are immensely proud of our residents and fellows and grateful to our faculty members for their support and mentorship in training the next generation of the obstetrician-gynecologists.” 

See a full list of research projects presented at the 2019 Sloane Academic Assembly

The department also honored the following residents and faculty members, who received awards at the Graduation Dinner on Friday night:

  • Howard C. Taylor Award: Dr. Lisa Gabor
  • Solan Chao Award: Dr. Sierra Seaman
  • Excellence in Teaching Awards:
    • PGY 1 – Dr. Elizabeth Ludwig
    • PGY 2 – Dr. Sbaa Syeda
    • PGY 3 – Dr. Claire Tobias
    • PGY 4 – Dr. Noelle Breslin
  • Captain Compliance: Dr. Aaron Praiss
  • CREOG National Faculty Award: Dr. June Hou
  • APGO Teaching Award: Dr. Silvana Ribaudo
  • AAGL/MIGS Award: Dr. Noelle Breslin
  • AUGS Award: Dr. Sierra Seaman
  • SMFM Award: Dr. Timothy Wen
  • Gyn Oncology Award: Dr. Lisa Gabor and Dr. Stephanie Cham
  • Sreedhar Gaddipati, MD MFM Teaching Award: Dr. Anita LaSala