Columbia Ob/Gyn hosts first virtual Academic Assembly and graduation

Faculty and all of residents and fellows in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center attended the first virtual Sloane Academic Assembly on Thursday, June 18, 2020. Owing to restrictions on large gatherings during the COVID-19 pandemic, the assembly was held online via Zoom. The PGY-3 residents (Nigel Madden, MD; Aaron Praiss, MD; Tiffany Sia, MD; Emily Spurlin, MD; Conrad Stern-Ascher, MD; and Sbaa Syeda, MD) and graduating fellows (Selma Amrane, MD - REI; Johana Oviedo, MD - Family Planning; Maria Ruiz, DO, MS - Gynecologic Oncology; Aleha Aziz, MD - MFM; Jessica Spiegelman, MD - MFM; Chetna Arora, MD - MIGS) presented their research projects.

The department also honored the following residents and faculty members, who received awards at the virtual graduation ceremony on Friday night:

  • Howard C. Taylor Award: Dr. Claire Tobias
  • Solan Chao Award: Dr. Anna Staniczenko
  • Excellence in Teaching Awards:
    • PGY 1 – Dr. Melanie Polin
    • PGY 2 – Dr. Anne Knisely
    • PGY 3 – Dr. Aaron Praiss
    • PGY 4 – Dr. Sierra Seaman
  • SASGOG Award: Dr. Claire Tobias
  • Captain Compliance: Dr. Nicole Krenitsky
    CREOG National Faculty Award: Dr. Amy Turitz
    APGO Teaching Award: Dr. Devon Rupley
    AAGL/MIGS Award: Dr. Sierra Seaman
  • AAGL Excellent in MIGS Award: Dr. Aaron Praiss and Dr. Tiffany Sia
  • AUGS Award: Dr. Sbaa Syeda
    SLS Outstanding MIS Resident: Dr. Nicole Krenitsky
  • SMFM Award: Dr. Sbaa Syeda
  • Gyn Oncology Award: Dr. Claire Tobias
    Richard U. Levine Memorial Award: Dr. Claire Tobias
  • Sreedhar Gaddipati, MD MFM Teaching Award: Dr. Bruce Feinberg